Georges Duby
 of the French Academy

 

Homage to Rimbaud, Prado beach, Marseille

AMADO JEAN (1922-1995)
By Georges Duby, of the French Academy

Jean Amado was born in Aix-en-Provence on January 27, 1922. He is of Smyrnian and Comtadine Jewish descent.

All his life, he was driven by a craftsman's passion for the beautiful material patiently, lovingly, poetically elaborated. An excellent draughtsman, he first worked in ceramics with his first wife, Jo Steenackers. In 1954, the architect Fernand Pouillon commissioned them to create an immense decoration for the façade of one of the towers he was building on the heights of Algiers: 40 meters high and 6 meters wide. This Totem, as the local inhabitants called it, was installed two years later. But in other climates, where they are exposed to the elements, works of such magnitude require a more resistant material than terracotta. In 1957, Jean Amado created what he called Cerastone, a mixture of basalt sand and molten cement. Baked at around 1,000 degrees Celsius - after 1974, it was simply left to harden in the open air - this concrete has an ochre tone; by using certain oxides, it can offer a wider range of colors. The qualities and requirements of this material are the characteristic features of Amado's creations. Each structure, prepared by a series of meticulously dimensioned drawings, is composed of several pieces, each one manufactured one after the other, each one on the previous one, fresh cement against hard cement, which ensures a precise adjustment and the necessary cohesion of the whole. The interlocking lines, themselves determined by the dimensions and weight of the various pieces fitting into this sort of puzzle, control the dynamics of the work, giving it its plumbness, its nervousness and, through a play of detachments, cracks and crevices, a strange, cavernous and secret life.

In 1964, the year following Jo's death, Jean Amado completed his first sculpture in volume. From then on, he would only concede a secondary role to bas-relief. After his marriage to Claudie Duhamel, encouraged since 1967 by Jean Dubuffet who supports him with his particular esteem, he also gradually abandons enamel: stripped of this surface film, the objects that come out of his hands take on a more frank and vigorous unity. From now on, the artist's research will mainly focus on the pigmentation of the mass. It was at this time that, through Dubuffet, the Jeanne-Bucher gallery welcomed Jean Amado to Paris. Immediately, all of a sudden, his fame spreads everywhere. Then begins an intensely fertile period. If the sculptor pursues until 1982, in modest formats, the elaboration of the long suite of the Barques, his work, for the main part, that it answers to public orders or that it is born of his own desire, is conceived to stand up, dominant, in full wind, offered to the burns of the sun, to the assaults of the gusts, more and more vast and imperious, until this disproportionate project of 1984, studied in collaboration with Paul Coupille, and that unfortunately, for lack of means, was never realized: to model the arid hills, to implant on the rock the silhouette of imaginary habitats at the entry and exit of the Treize-Vents tunnel on the A55 freeway between Fos-sur-Mer and Marseille.

1970, first solo exhibition at the Jeanne-Bucher gallery; 1979, first retrospective at the Mathildenhöle in Darmstadt; 1980, retrospectives at the Grenoble Museum of Sculpture and Painting and at the Rijksmuseum Kröller-Muller in Otterlo; 1985, retrospective at the Musée des Arts décoratifs in Paris. Oslo in Norway, Aalborg in Denmark, Darmstadt in Germany, the Kröller-Muller Museum in the Netherlands, the Palais de l'Élysée bought respectively Qu'est-ce qu'il traîne, la Barque no 14, Roseberg, De la mer le passage, Maman. Erected in front of the city, lifted by the breath of the sea, Hommage à Rimbaud was inaugurated in 1989 in Marseille, on the Prado beach. Amado's sculptures can be seen all over France, on squares, in the courtyards of large houses. Many are fountains. Water," writes the artist, "brings to sculpture and sculpture to water something I don't know, perhaps one more mystery, but there is an exchange between one and the other, as in these fountains that the moss covers to the point of stealing what is underneath."

"Fortresses of desire" (the formula became the title of a film that presented Jean Amado's work on television), immobile or crawling figures that seem to come from the depths of the ages, worn down by secular erosions, these sculptures emerge as if under the pressure of telluric twists, similar to those that made Sainte-Victoire bloom on the horizon of Aix-en-Provence. It is necessary," confided their author to Bernard Noël, "that it grows by itself. Jean Amado wanted his works strongly rooted in the mother earth, he wished them invaded by insidious vegetation. They are hollow. "Is it not, he said, to approach the idea of matrix, of body, of tomb? ...] I do not seek at the level of doing but of need. To escape any immutable order, to incorporate myself into the great vital forces, to find a time between life and death and delay the moment of disappearing." Jean Amado died on October 16, 1995 in Aix-en-Provence. A few months earlier, he was collecting stones, cutting them up and entrusting them, adorned with brief artifices (Stones), to the bronze founder.

     Georges DUBY

D'ascendance juive smyrniote et

comtadine, le sculpteur Jean Amado est

né à Aix-en-Provence le 27 janvier 1922.

Toute sa vie, il fut animé par une passion

d'artisan pour le beau matériau

patiemment, amoureusement, poétiquement élaboré. Excellent dessinateur, il travaille d'abord la céramique avec sa première épouse, Jo Steenackers. En 1954, l'architecte Fernand Pouillon leur commande, pour la façade d'une des tours qu'il élève sur les hauteurs d'Alger, un immense décor : 40 mètres de hauteur, 6 mètres de largeur. Ce Totem, comme l'appelèrent les habitants du lieu, est mis en place deux ans plus tard. Mais sous d'autres climats, où ils sont exposés aux intempéries, des ouvrages d'une telle ampleur exigent un matériau plus résistant que la terre cuite. En 1957, Jean Amado crée ce qu'il nomme le Cerastone, un mélange de sable de basalte et de ciment fondu. Cuit au four aux environs de 1 000 ° – après 1974, on le laissera simplement durcir à l'air libre –, ce béton revêt une tonalité ocre ; par l'emploi de certains oxydes, il peut offrir au regard une plus large gamme de colorations. Des qualités et des exigences de cette matière découlent les traits caractéristiques des créations d'Amado. Chaque structure, préparée par une suite de dessins minutieusement cotés, est composée de plusieurs pièces, fabriquées l'une après l'autre, chacune sur la précédente, ciment frais contre ciment dur, ce qui assure un ajustage précis et la nécessaire cohésion de l'ensemble. Les lignes d'emboîtement, elles-mêmes déterminées par les dimensions et le poids des divers morceaux s'encastrant dans cette sorte de puzzle, commandent la dynamique de l'œuvre, lui confèrent son aplomb, sa nervosité et, par un jeu de décrochements, de fissures et d'anfractuosités, une vie étrange, caverneuse et secrète.

En 1964, l'année qui suivit la mort de Jo, Jean Amado achève, hors commande, sa première sculpture en volume. Dès lors, il ne concédera plus au bas-relief qu'un rôle secondaire. Après son mariage avec Claudie Duhamel, encouragé depuis 1967 par Jean Dubuffet qui le soutient de sa particulière estime, il abandonne aussi progressivement l'émail : dépouillés de cette pellicule de surface, les objets qui sortent de ses mains prennent une unité plus franche et vigoureuse. Désormais, les recherches de l'artiste porteront principalement sur la pigmentation de la masse. C'est à cette époque que, par l'entremise de Dubuffet, la galerie Jeanne-Bucher accueille à Paris Jean Amado. Aussitôt, d'un coup, sa renommée se répand de toutes parts. Commence alors une période intensément féconde. Si le sculpteur poursuit jusqu'en 1982, dans des formats modestes, l'élaboration de la longue suite des Barques, son œuvre, pour l'essentiel, qu'elle réponde à des commandes publiques ou qu'elle naisse de son propre désir, est conçue pour se dresser, dominante, en plein vent, offerte aux brûlures du soleil, aux assauts des bourrasques, de plus en plus vaste et impérieuse, jusqu'à ce projet démesuré de 1984, étudié en collaboration avec Paul Coupille, et qui malheureusement, faute de moyens, ne fut jamais réalisé : modeler les collines arides, implanter sur le roc la silhouette d'habitats imaginaires à l'entrée et à la sortie du tunnel des Treize-Vents sur l'autoroute A55 entre Fos-sur-Mer et Marseille.

1970, première exposition personnelle à la galerie Jeanne-Bucher ; 1979, première rétrospective à la Mathildenhöle de Darmstadt ; 1980, rétrospectives au musée de Sculpture et de Peinture de Grenoble et au Rijksmuseum Kröller-Muller à Otterlo ; 1985, rétrospective au musée des Arts décoratifs de Paris. Oslo en Norvège, Aalborg au Danemark, Darmstadt en Allemagne, le musée Kröller-Muller aux Pays-Bas, le palais de l'Élysée achètent respectivement Qu'est-ce qu'il traîne, la Barque no 14, Roseberg, De la mer le passage, Maman. Érigé face à la ville, soulevé par tous les souffles de la mer, Hommage à Rimbaud est inauguré en 1989 à Marseille, sur la plage du Prado. Les sculptures d'Amado se voient un peu partout en France, sur les places, dans les cours des grandes demeures. Beaucoup sont des fontaines. “L'eau, écrit l'artiste, apporte à la sculpture et la sculpture à l'eau quelque chose que j'ignore, peut-être un mystère de plus, mais il y a échange entre l'une et l'autre, comme dans ces fontaines que la mousse recouvre au point de nous dérober ce qu'il y a dessous.”

“Forteresses du désir” (la formule est devenue le titre d'un film qui présenta à la télévision l'œuvre de Jean Amado), figures immobiles ou rampantes que l'on dirait venues du fond des âges, usées par de séculaires érosions, ces sculptures surgissent comme sous la pression de torsions telluriques, semblables à celles qui firent éclore la Sainte-Victoire à l'horizon d'Aix-en-Provence. “Il faut, confiait leur auteur à Bernard Noël, que cela pousse de soi-même.” Jean Amado a voulu ses œuvres fortement enracinées dans la terre mère, il les souhaitait envahies par des végétations insidieuses. Elles sont creuses. “N'est-ce pas, disait-il, pour approcher l'idée de matrice, de corps, de tombeau ? [...] Je ne cherche pas au niveau du faire mais du besoin. Pour échapper à tout ordre immuable, pour m'incorporer aux grandes forces vitales, pour trouver un temps entre la vie et la mort et retarder le moment de disparaître.” Jean Amado est mort le 16 octobre 1995 à Aix-en-Provence. Quelques mois plus tôt, il ramassait des pierres, les retaillait et les confiait, parées de brefs artifices (Pierres), au fondeur de bronze.

     Georges DUBY

Hommage à Rimbaud, plage du Prado, Marseille

Georges Duby
 de l'Académie français

AMADO JEAN (1922-1995)

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now